American Horticultural Society Book Award Winners

These five gardening books of note have captured the attention of the American Horticultural Society, which has designated them its book award winners for 2016.

By the American Horticultural Society

Fall 2016

Seeing Seeds book cover

"Seeing Seeds: A Journey into the World of Seedheads, Pods, and Fruit" by Robert Llewellyn and Teri Dunn Chace

Photo courtesy of Timber Press

Content Tools

Over the last two decades, the American Horticultural Society (AHS) has been recognizing outstanding gardening books published in North America with its annual book awards. Books are judged by the AHS Book Award Committee on qualities such as writing style, authority, originality, accuracy, and design quality. This year’s five gardening book winners, published in 2015, are:

The Art of Gardening by the Chanticleer Gardeners and R. William Thomas

How Plants Work by Linda Chalker-Scott

Planting in a Post-Wild World by Thomas Rainer and Claudia West

The Seed Garden edited by Lee Buttala and Shanyn Siegel, with contributors Micaela Colley and Jared Zystro of Seed Savers Exchange.

Seeing Seeds by Robert Llewellyn and Teri Dunn Chace. Check out our photo essay for a sample of the beautiful seed photography featured in this award-winning volume.

AHS Fun Fact: Two of the members on the American Horticultural Society Book Award Committee are Jim Long (author of our Roots Rx department) and Doug Oster (author of the Sage Advice department).